Goodyear

Goodyear

Today’s photograph is the Goodyear Bicycle my dad learned on. For many, learning to ride a bike is another tidbit of memory to be stored away and pulled out on those days when you need a lift. There’s nothing quite like the carefree feeling of coasting down the hills on the farm-feet off the pedals and hands close to the brakes; careening precariously out of control, yet loving every minute. This exhilirating ride went on and on, well after the sun had set and the fireflies were blinking all around.
As I look at this photo today, I’m anticipating the day when my husband and I are teaching our son to ride his first bicycle, and seeing the joy on his sweet, little face when he rides for the first time by himself. Part of the joy of being a parent is it’s ability to bring the wonder and magic of childhood back into your life. We get so caught up in our own world of rushing that the small pleasures of life are forgotten. I believe the blessing of a child is God’s way of bringing that anticipation of what’s around the corner back to us.

About rusticstory

I am an active hiking mama and wife who loves creating beautiful things. I take landscape photography and my husband and I give old wood a new life by creating rustic frames. I have begun using a wood burning pen to create design and wording on the frames. I have a passion for creating new things and have recently taken to my husband's miter saw and router. I love the feeling of looking at a new frame creation, and kicking myself for not thinking of this earlier in life! I also love the thought of my high school shop teacher looking at these with disbelief in his eyes (shop class was not my first love!). My super supportive hubby helps me wrestle the sometimes warped pieces of wood into something absoutely beautiful! It is such a metaphor for life to me...my Jesus wrestles the warped pieces of my life into something beautiful. The most poetic thing about this metaphor is this; the pieces of my life that I thought were un-salvagable were the exact pieces I had to go through to form the absoutely beautiful life I have now. It would not have happened any other way. My blog is a complation of experiences of love, life, photography, and frame making! All frames and photography are available for sale on Etsy at www.etsy.com/shop/RusticStory. Please visit and enjoy!

3 responses to “Goodyear

  1. Not only a fab photographer, but you paint beautiful word pictures, too! Magical indeed. 😉 Thanks for the visual of childhood.

  2. “Part of the joy of being a parent is it’s ability to bring the wonder and magic of childhood back into your life. We get so caught up in our own world of rushing that the small pleasures of life are forgotten.” – I was just writing something similar last night. Thank God for the little miracles known as children! I love the photo of the bike, too!

Leave a Reply

